At the beginning of 2015 I chose my “word of the year”. My word was presentI wanted to be present in each day and not be so distracted with everything else. Last year I didn’t choose a word. I made anti-resolutions instead. Seemed fitting considering how crazy the previous year was.

Anyhow, I think 2017 needs a word. The word for my year will be intentional. I want to live on purpose. I want to have an end goal with mini goals and prompts along the way to keep me on track. I want to live each day feeling like I’ve accomplished something, even if that something is simply making a to-do list in the morning. I want the vast majority of my time to be spent doing something meaningful, something fulfilling, something enriching… and not just scrolling through Facebook for hours.

I have divided my word of the year into 3 key areas: Health/Wellbeing, Spiritual, and Creative. I found a list of 52 changes for a healthy lifestyle. For the other two, I made my own list. I’ll try to share that in a future blog post. Once I made my lists, I went through my planner and added one from each at the beginning of every week. Then I color coded them – pink for health, blue for spiritual growth, and orange for creative. I also decided green would be for things relating to my kids, and yellow would be things relating to work, but those are just side notes, not weekly goals. Though, my children and job are not side notes. Just realized that didn’t quite sound right. Moving on…

 

 

I also found several quotes and bible verses relating to my word of the year and my goals, and then I wrote those on random pages throughout my planner. I’m pretty interested to see how my life corresponds to whatever weekly goals or sayings I have pre-loaded. I’ve also marked the date when I need to do my fitness assessment to check my progress. I have written reminders throughout the year to make daily lists or schedule important appointments. I’ll likely also try to get all my bills due on the same day so I don’t accidentally forget anything.

I bought myself an alarm clock today and plan to use it instead of my phone. I’ll be putting my phone in another room at night to avoid the tendency and habit of checking my phone first thing in the morning or if I wake in the middle of the night. I’m hoping this helps me to sleep better and start my day better and more productively. If you’re checking Facebook before you greet your family in the morning then there’s a problem. When I get paid Friday I also intend to buy myself a watch so I don’t have to rely so heavily on my phone. I find myself checking my phone for the time and then getting sucked into social media and games and before I know it, 20 minutes has passed just in checking the time.

I’m going to get my oldest in on it too. In the next week I have scheduled time to sit down with her and help her set her own goals. I want to create responsibility and ownership in her. I want her to set a goal and feel the accomplishment when it’s done, knowing that she can do something when she decides to do it and works toward it.

I have big hopes for 2017, and I know that if I want to achieve it then I’m going to have to do something about it. Success doesn’t come from sitting on your butt and wishing something will happen. You have to do something. It may be baby steps each day, but they are steps that move you closer to where you want to be. I’m sure that throughout the year I’ll share what my goals/prompts are for that week and any other relevant tidbits. I’m making a goal to publish a blog post once a week, at least. One step at a time.

 

The new year is just a few short days away. Have you thought about what your goals for the new year are? Share in the comments!

 

 

