How I Fuel My Day

Full confession: I am not a morning person, but I desperately wish to be.

Most mornings I struggle to get out of bed, but the past couple of weeks I have been trying something new. Some days I have been successful, and some days my snooze button has won. There are a few things that I’ve been trying to make a habit so that I can become a morning person and get my day off to a great start.

 

 

What has been working well for me (when I do it) is I aim to get up at 5:40am. This is an hour (hopefully) before my girls wake up or I wake them up. This is how my morning ideally plays out, and I have alarms set to signal each transition.

5:40am First alarm. Time to wake up. Get my eyes open and adjusted to being open.

5:45am Second alarm. This is when I bring up the Bible app on my phone and read my morning devotional and pray. Gotta put first things first!

6:00am Third alarm. This alarm on my phone is labeled “Are you out of bed yet?!” This is my cue that if I’m not out of the bed yet that I need to be.

And just in case I was stubborn…

6:01am Fourth alarm. “Workout that sexy body!!!” Seriously. The hope is that before this alarm goes off I’ve had a glass of water. I’m trying to do the lukewarm lemon water. Sure is hard to drink in the morning, but I’ve read oodles of things that say it’s good for your body to drink a glass of water before anything else, and I’ve read other things that say adding in lemon makes it super awesome for you. So, at 6:01am-ish I do a quick workout to get the blood flowin’. I’m currently using an app called Seven, which coaches you through a 7-minute workout. Sometimes that’s all the time I have.

After my 7-minute workout I start getting myself ready for the day – get dressed, hair, makeup, COFFEE, breakfast (a hungry girl is a cranky girl), packing our bags for work (if needed), etc.

6:30am Fifth alarm. This one is my 15-minute warning, telling me that I have 15 minutes before I need to wake the girls so I better hurry up.

6:45am Sixth alarm. Wake the girls.And have more coffee.

As you can see. I have several alarms to start my morning, and my alarm system carries throughout the day. Although I don’t have them at this close of an interval until I need to start my daughter’s bedtime.

I find that starting my days by taking care of myself first really gives me the clarity I need to get my day started well. It takes the rush of out the morning. Starting my day in a panic always makes the rest of my day more stressful.

On the two days each week that I work outside my house, I walk/run for the first 20 minutes of my 45-minute lunch break. I also try to work in a plank here and there too. Just a little something to recharge.

I have also been changing what and how much I’m eating, and I’ve increased my water intake. This is also helping me to have more energy to keep going with my day and avoiding the slump.

It’s hard to remember to take care of yourself and sometimes you even feel guilty for doing so, but in order to best care for those around you and give them the best you, you need to care for yourself. Get some time to yourself in the morning, even if it’s only 10 minutes. Give yourself mini-breaks during the day to recharge your batteries. I’m sure your to-do list is a mile or three long. Get yourself on that list. Schedule yourself onto your calendar and don’t cancel the date with yourself or stand yourself up!! You’re important too!


What are some of the things you do to fuel your day and keep you going?

 photo signaturepng_zpsd95be082.png

One thought on “How I Fuel My Day

Leave a Reply

