Raising Butterflies & Little Girls

 

God knew what He was doing when He gave me two little girls. I’m not sure what I’d do with boys. I definitely feel more capable to raise girls, especially since I love all things pink!
I’m a little behind in my blogging. I was just looking at the notes on my phone, and some of the blog ideas I had are a little past due. I guess that happens when you move and are trying to start new. I feel like I’m doing a dozen different things at once ALL THE TIME, but I’m happy with where my life is headed. For the first time in awhile, I feel hopeful.
But anyhoo… I homeschooled for a month or so toward the end of the school year, and we decided (I decided) it would be fun to raise butterflies. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for while now, so this seemed like a good time for it.
I ordered our initial kit on Amazon, but it’s from Insect Lore. It came with a net habitat and a coupon for the caterpillars. It was really neat to see the whole cycle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These were painted lady butterflies. Viewing this whole process was a bit miraculous. It’s amazing how a worm-like creature that crawls on the ground can transform into another insect that has the ability to fly. Just amazing.
I think people have “butterfly moments” throughout life too. I think we all have a time in our life (sometimes a few of them) when we have to cocoon ourselves in order to grow. It’s a very fragile time in our lives with a “do not disturb” sign on our doors, but when we have the strength to emerge from our cocoon, we are stronger than we were before and are ready to take flight. We’re ready to explore what we couldn’t before.
With my girls, I feel like right now I am their cocoon. It is my job to protect them and keep them safe until they are ready to fly solo. Our little ones grow so much more quickly than we’d like. I just hope that when mine are grown they will fly back to me now and then and that they will remember these experiences that we’ve shared together.

 photo signaturepng_zpsd95be082.png

One thought on “Raising Butterflies & Little Girls

Leave a Reply

