Knitting Needle Chaos into Caddy

I have one of those personalities that LOVE organization but has trouble maintaining it. Am I the only one?

I like seeing things in their proper place, making labels, sorting things by color/size/shape, but those things quickly get out of order, misplaced, lost… you name it. I don’t know how many different ways I’ve tried to organize things, especially my knitting needles, and especially those darn circulars. How in the world do you keep them neat and remember what size & length they are?

Well… my parents have given me a helping hand… in the form of a sweet caddy, carrier, suitcase thing.

This thing is seriously fantastic. It has WHEELS!!! And a pull-up handle like a suitcase. And POCKETS!!
And pockets.
And pockets.
And pockets.
There are so many pockets!!!! Zippered ones and velcro ones. Oh my!!
Isn’t it beautiful?! It fits everything!! All my needles, hooks, notions, and do-dads AND a few WIPs!
I put my hooks and needles into the cases I made for them, then put them in the main section. I put my DPNs into labeled tubes from Knit Picks and stuck those in a side pocket. But there was still the question of what to do with my circular needles. After a bit of research and checking out what I already had, this is what I came up with.
I already had an accordion file binder thing so I labeled each pocket by the needle size. I decided to put 2 needle sizes in each pocket because I would have run out of pockets. A few of my needles are also still on or with the package it came in, and I have something to measure the sizes. I’ll likely, eventually, get another binder so I can just have one size per pocket.
In addition to this, I wrote out the sizes and lengths of knitting needles I have (straights, DPNs, and circulars) and how many of each, and I wrote down what crochet hooks I have. I put this paper in the front of the binder for easy reference. Now, if I have a particular pattern I want to do, I can quickly look at this sheet to see if I have the hook/needle needed, rather than fumbling through all my needles. I think it’s pretty brilliant.
And this case makes traveling with my projects (even from room to room) super easy. I have everything I need all in one place. Yes!!!
Now, I’d like to hear from you! How do you organize your fiber supplies?

 

 photo signaturepng_zpsd95be082.png

Leave a Reply

