A Month Without Facebook

My month without Facebook officially ended last week. It’s funny how, in the beginning, when you’re giving something up it seems like such a sacrifice, but the further into it you get, the easier it is.

I have checked my personal Facebook now, with well over 100 notifications. However, I don’t plan to add back the Facebook app on my phone anytime soon. It’s been nice not having it there. I can’t check it nearly as often or as easily.

One of the first things I did when I finally checked it was to go through and unlike the random brand pages that I had added for contests, giveaways, and such, as well as pages like Upworthy that tend to fill my feed all day and choke out the updates from friends. My Facebook feed is a lot cleaner now, and I can see the updates that I want to see.

I also think I will be using the “like” button less. Rather than scrolling through and liking any and every status, photo, and page that interests me, I instead will leave a comment. That’s the point of Facebook anyway, right? We want to keep in touch. How does hitting “like” qualify as keeping in touch? All it does is say “hey, I saw what you posted and thought it was neat/funny/sweet/etc.” I plan to join in on the conversation and actually SAY something.

To check out my reasons behind my month without Facebook, check out this blog post.

If you would like to see a few of the things I learned during this time, check out this one.

Now, it’s your turn… Would you or have you ever taken a break from Facebook? Give it a try. It just might surprise you.

 photo signaturepng_zpsd95be082.png

Leave a Reply

