Understanding ADHD …and all those other letters.

If you’ve ever lived with someone who has ADHD, OCD, SPD, or any other combination of letters, you can probably relate… It’s draining.

It can wear you down & out emotionally, physically, and mentally. Some days, it can nearly suck you dry. You want to throw your hands in the air, fall to the floor, curl up in the fetal position and cry like a baby, because you’re so wiped out and feel hopeless.

I have had a few of these moments lately. Not only do I have a child with ADHD, ODD, SPD, my boyfriend also has ADD, and I have some ADD and OCD. As my best friend said, “That’s a whole lot of letters under one roof” and she ain’t kiddin’!

There can be a lot of tears when dealing with my daughter, but she’s just so amazing. This morning I had a conference call with her counselor and someone from her school. The school rep said, academically, she is above average and excelling. Excelling! My daughter, who has the attention span (most of the time) of a gnat, is excelling academically. This is something I felt like I had to convince her teacher last year of. She didn’t take the time to see it.

My daughter is so incredibly creative. She makes up stories and songs, and is very imaginative. She loves to figure out how things work, loves science experiments, and asks a TON of questions. She’s very inquisitive. I love it. It can drive me crazy the way she talks nonstop, but I try to keep in mind that she’s just very curious and creative.

I don’t want her diagnosis ever to be a crutch or an excuse for either of us. I want to see it as a gift. There are many positive aspects to having ADHD, but many people can’t get past the distractability and hyperactivity enough to see it. I’m hoping I can show her how to use it to her advantage. And I’m hoping I can also learn to work with it, rather than against it. 

Casey

Leave a Reply

