Apple Cinnamon Popcorn Recipe

 

 

I love Fall. It is definitely my favorite time of the year. I love how beautiful it is. I love the colors. I love the smells. I love the activities. And I LOVE the food! With Fall comes hot cider, hot cocoa, yummy apple desserts, and soups.

I am also a big popcorn lover. Over the weekend I was enjoying the beautiful weather by having a warm drink with my knitting. During one of my trips to the kitchen, the big bag of apples on my counter caught my eye, and I thought that some apple cinnamon popcorn would be fantastic! …And it was!!! My 7-year-old also gave it the thumbs-up. It was so yummy that I’ve decided to share it with you! 🙂

What you’ll need:

4 apples of your choice
1/4 c popcorn kernels
1/4 c sugar
1-2 T veggie oil
3 T butter
cinnamon
pecans (optional)

 

You can go the easy route and buy dried apples, but I had apples on my counter, so I dried them myself.

If you dry your own apples… The first thing you need to is preheat your oven to 150 degrees or its lowest setting. Cover a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Then you need to slice, peel, and dice your apples. Put your apples in a single layer on your parchment paper, sprinkle with cinnamon. You will need to leave your apples in the oven for about 8 hours. Every now and then you will need to stir them a bit to expose all sides of the apples. When they’re done they will feel spongy, sort of like a raisin.

 

On to the popcorn!

My method of popping involves my Whirley Pop thingie, so I put my kernels, sugar, and oil in the pot to pop. This gets the sugar all melty on the popcorn and makes it sort of sticky. You’ll want to have your butter melted and ready.

Once your popcorn is popped, pour it into a bowl. Then quickly pour your butter and dried apples into it and stir. As your stir, you can add in more cinnamon to your liking. You’ll want to do this mixing while the popcorn is still warm and the sugar is still a bit sticky so the apples and cinnamon will stick.

Then, enjoy! Try to share!!! 😉

I didn’t have pecans, but chopped pecans would be pretty good in this too. Or maybe some craisins… I think I need more popcorn!


Happy Fall!!
 
2 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Popcorn Recipe

Leave a Reply

