Live Your Dream: Keep Your Eyes On the Goal

 

 

This week I would like to do a blog series on goals, how to get there, and how to deal with it when things don’t go as planned. Too often we envision something but don’t take the necessary steps to achieve it. Psychologist, Fitzhugh Dodson said, “Goals that are not written down are just wishes.” This week I would like to take us from wishes to goals & successes.

The first thing we need to do is to write down the end goal. What is it that you are wanting to accomplish or achieve? Aim high! You know the quote, “If you aim for the moon and miss, you’ll land among the stars.” Think big!

Go ahead… Write it down. Do it.

Have you written it down yet? I’m waiting…

Okay! Now that that is done, let’s move onto part two.

Underneath your written goal, I would like for you to write your why. Why are you wanting to reach this goal? What is your motivation?

It is important that you write down your why, so do it. Write it down.

Now. Now that you have written down your end goal and your why, hang that piece of paper somewhere you can see it often. Even write it down on several notecards so you can hang one at work, one on a bathroom mirror at home, one on your refrigerator, by your desk, your bed… You get the idea. Put it somewhere where you can see it and be reminded of what your goal is and why you are doing it. Think on your end goal and allow yourself to dream it. Live it in your mind. The more you remind yourself of why you’re doing it, the more motivation you will have to take action to achieve it.

CheckΒ  back tomorrow to see my goal and my why, as well as the next step in our series.

Part 1: Keep Your Eyes On the Goal
Part 2: Creating a DreamboardΒ 
Part 3: Your Plan of Action
Part 4: Find Your Motivators
Part 5: Dealing with Setbacks

Casey πŸ™‚

26 thoughts on “Live Your Dream: Keep Your Eyes On the Goal

  1. Thank you! This has been a good series for me too. I just started my Mary Kay business, in addition to my craft business, and I needed a reminder of goals and what I'm wanting to achieve.

    Like

  2. Thank you! And I know the feeling!! I currently have 4 “jobs” at the moment… as a single mom. I have far too many things I want to do and not enough me to do it.

    Like

  3. Love this- I have recently been struggling on which way I want to go, so many opportunities not enough me to go around! LOL! P.S.I love your profile pic- you are so cute! Have a great day!

    Like

  4. Thanks for your post! I have started writing down my dreams and goals on notecards. I try to take them out everyday and remind myself of where I am going. Like you said it is a great motivator to keep momentum going in the right direction!

    Like

Leave a Reply

