And Then There Are the Doubters…

 

 

I’ll admit, before I did a laa-aahhh-t {that’s “lot”. with emphasis.} of research into ADHD (Attention Deficient Hyperactivity Disorder, I believed what so many others have said about it. “It’s just kids being kids.” But unless you’ve lived with it, you just don’t really know.

I wrote a blog post a little over a month ago that shared how this ADHD journey began for us. Her counselor has given us some great information, in addition to what I’ve found online, but what I wasn’t prepared for were “the doubters”. By “doubters” I mean those who say things like:

“My kids were JUST like that.”
 
“She’ll grow out of it. Mine did.”
 
“ADHD is over-diagnosed these days.”
 
“You REALLY think changing her diet is going to make a difference?”
 
“You’re just wasting your time on energy on this stuff.”
 
“She is falling behind in school. She can’t read.”
 
“What is WRONG with her?!”
I have found that there is no amount of explanation, no combination of words, no research, nothing I can give them that will convince them that ADHD is a very real reality for my daughter and I.
To add to it, my daughter also has a diagnosis of ODD (Oppositional Defiant Disorder) and SPD (Sensory Processing Disorder). Also, both very real things.
I’m slowly beginning to learn that these diagnosis’ can be a gift. They make her beautifully different, quirky, creative, and very smart. However, sometimes those things are not evident because they get masked by her difficulty to focus, her impulsiveness, her hyperactivity, her talking, and her sensory overloads.
playing with an app on my phone. thankful there aren’t 3 of her! 🙂
I’m not sure how many negatives my daughter hears when I’m not with her, but I hear more than enough for the both of us. Sometimes it’s all I can do not to break down in tears, especially when I hear some of the things that were said to her while she’s at school.
I’m reading the book Super-Parenting for ADD, and it is helping me to see things differently. It’s helping me to get inside her head and understand why she is the way she is. It’s helping me to see the positives to the negatives and to draw out her strengths and talents. I think every educator of children should read this book. Not all kids are created equally. Some require a little more work on our part, but the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow will be glorious!
So I’m asking you, especially if you have ADHD or are a parent of an ADHD kid (or ODD, SPD, or the like), how do you deal with the doubters? 
How do you build your child up to see their strengths, instead of the negatives they hear almost daily?
 1st day of 1st grade and last day of 1st grade. Wow.
Today is the last day of first grade. It’s been a rough year, but we’re figuring it out together. I love this girl more than words can say.
 
Casey 🙂
Leave a Reply

