DIY Earring Cards & Stamps

 

Late last week I came to the conclusion that I really wanted to get earring/jewelry cards with my shop name on them. However, after some research, this was turning out to be a pricey addition. So I thought perhaps I could make my own cards and buy a custom stamp with my shop name on it. This, too, was a bit more than I wanted to spend right now, so I remembered that I still had printmaking tools and linoleum scraps from college.
I then set my mind and hands to creating my own earring card AND stamp. With a minimal investment, all I has to lose was cramped and tired hands.
I tried making the stamps first. I typed it up on the computer, and, since my printer is out of ink, held tracing paper on the screen and traced the letters. Then I went over them with graphite and rubbed it onto the linoleum.
Carving around the letters wasn’t easy. I’ve not done letters before, and this was some fine detail work, but I don’t think it turned out too bad. In fact, I liked it so much that I made a couple other stamps. I made one that mimicked my banner with the little squares and another that was an abbreviated C-squared.

 

I made the cards using two paint swatches glued together. Yay for free! πŸ™‚
I then found a cute stamp for the back.
Total cost: $1 (for the flower stamp that was on clearance)
I say this was a win, but I want to know what you think of it too!

 

I’m also wondering how you feel about “extras”. I’m considering including a little extra in orders I send out. Yay or Nay?
As always…
Keep on crafting!!
Β 
Casey πŸ™‚
One thought on “DIY Earring Cards & Stamps

Leave a Reply

