Monday Encouragement: Living the Dream

While getting ready this morning I thought that maybe I could start writing some sort of encouragement on Mondays, because, let’s face it, Monday mornings are usually when we need that little extra boost the most.


I found this photo online last week, and I can’t stop thinking about it. Isn’t that how it seems to go? For me, it seems that the people who are most discouraging are the ones who have allowed themselves to just settle in and have stopped aiming for anything more than making sure they’re home to watch their favorite tv show. It’s the people who, for one reason or another, have completely given up on their dreams. 

I gave up once. Possibly a few times. I had just gotten so bogged down and discouraged by life and by trying to live my dreams and it not measuring up to my hopes. I had given up. I had too many people yelling in my ears, saying that it would never happen, that I needed to give up the dream and come back to reality. I’ve never really been one to stay in reality for too long. I’m too much of a dreamer. I’m always looking and hoping for something. Maybe this gets me in trouble sometimes, but I can’t help but hope that there is more to living than just routine and getting a paycheck. 

I’m not going to tell you that living the dream will be easy. It’s often not, at least not at first. There will likely always be someone telling you you’re crazy, stupid, foolish, unrealistic, and that you should just give up. Nowadays, my stubborn nature tends to take those comments and turn them into fuel to prove them wrong, even if I’m the only one to care that I did it despite adversities. I know that I did it, and sometimes that’s more than enough.



Today I want to share just a few tips on how to live your dreams.

  • Keep your dream in mind always. Make a dream board. Make one from magazine clippings and posterboard that you can hang in your office, kitchen, wherever you will see it daily and be reminded of what you’re wanting.

 

  • Let the positive outweigh the negative. You’re always going to get negative feedback, but make sure to have more people in your circle who are going to support and encourage you than those who are going to discourage you. And when you’re met with obstacles and rejections, don’t let them overtake you or cause you to give up. Focus on the good.

 

  • Get to know people who are doing what you hope to be doing. These people can be a tremendous source of encouragement and wisdom. They’ve already been through the beginning stages and have learned some of the “what works and what doesn’t”. 

 

  • Keep at it. Write up daily, weekly, monthly goals to get you to where you want to be, and do something every day that gets you one step closer.

 

If there’s only one thing I’ve learned (and am still learning) in all this, it’s that it takes time. It usually doesn’t happen over night. If you want something, you’re going to have to work for it. You may have to do things that are outside your comfort zone, but if you really, really want it, it will all be worth it. 

Don’t let anyone squash your dreams! Keep dreamin’ and live it!

Leave a Reply

