Turning the "Oops"es Into Art

“Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.”Scott Adams

A day or so ago I thought it would be a fun idea to make some zig zaggy chevron earrings. When I think back on crochet memories, zig zag and granny squares are what I grew up seeing. To me, those are classic, crochet trademarks, if you will.

So I sat down to make a pair. How hard can it be, right? Turns out, it’s… well… it wasn’t too easy. I had never made the zig zaggy chevron pattern before. I had made zig zags on my own in freeform work, but I wanted it to look somewhat uniform. Ha! 

I had to start and restart several times, because, once you add the zigs and zags in, my earring was either wider or narrower than I had in mind. It seems that every chevron pattern I saw was different, so I also had to figure out a formula that would work for the width… x-amount of sc, then 3 sc in one stitch, x more scs, then skip, etc. It was almost enough to make me toss it and forget it. I then looked to see if there were earrings similar to this. I found none, and I do believe there’s a reason for it. I think the zig zag formula may be tricky enough, but when you’re trying to do it in miniature, it’s enough to make a person drink an entire bottle of wine in 15 minutes. I didn’t do this, but only because I didn’t have the wine. haha 

When I had finished what I thought was a good size, this is what I saw.

I was making a red and pink one for Valentine’s Day, but the zig zag added more stitches along the way and ended up looking like a strip of bacon. So I decided to make breakfast… out of cotton thread. I really kinda like it!
 

 

I tried the chevron again and got better results the second time. I think they kind of look like tulips.

 

 

Both of these earring sets are now listed in my Etsy shop. I also added a new pair of Granny Square earrings.


So the moral of the blog is, embrace the suck, because you never know what mistakes can be turned into something great… well, something worth keeping, anyway. 
 
“In art, as in life, the best way to remedy mistakes is to take advantage of them.” –Darby Bannard
Leave a Reply

