Has Pinterest Killed Creativity?

I’ve had this thought many times before. Don’t get me wrong, I love Pinterest. There are so many great ideas, recipes, and whatnot on there, but I have to take breaks from it. I think too much of it actually stifles my own ideas. I find myself just making what I see, rather than coming up with something new. My new friend Courtney just recently wrote a blog post on the difference between copying and inspiration. You can find it here.

I’ve been doing arts and crafts since I was a little girl, way before Pinterest and the overuse of the internet. I had to come up with my own ideas for paintings and drawings and whatever else I did. It’s really more fun that way, because you can make something and have the accomplishment of knowing that it was your idea. It feels so much more gratifying when someone compliments you on it, and also more crushing when someone criticizes it.

When I first taught myself to crochet and knit about 3 years ago, I was dependent on patterns because I didn’t know the math behind it. Yes, there is a lot of math involved. Good thing I took Calculus! To create your own knit and crochet patterns takes a lot of skill, because there is so much thinking and planning involved, especially for amigurumi and intricate patterns & complex designs. It’s a lot of trial and error. A few months after I started I began experimenting. The first pattern I create was for a pattern amigurumi. A friend of mine wanted a plush panda, but I didn’t like any of the patterns I found, so I worked on making my own. I made a boy and girl one. I think they’re super cute!

 

As you can see, it took some practice. This one was early on and they didn’t come out the same size, but they were mine.

Since then I have created various designs. My favorite was the Yukon Cornelius hat that I came up with this past December. The overwhelming response to it has made it that much more exciting.

 

Knitting is taking me a bit longer to come up with my own designs. The Yukon hat was my first one… I think. But I haven’t quite mastered the math of knitting and pattern design. It’s trickier to me. I’ll get there, though.

I like arts and crafts because it’s something different than you find everywhere else. I don’t want what everyone else has, unless it’s an amazing cup of coffee. I want uniqueness, something that is uniquely me. I want my home that way, my appearance, my art, my everything.

This year I want to focus on creating insanely unique pieces. I would love to do freeform, but I’m not sure I have the patience for it. It takes forever to do, but we shall see. I have a project I’m working on at the moment that I’m really excited about. I’ll tell you more on that later. I want to create things that aren’t easily copied, things that people would rather just buy from me than attempt to make themselves.

3 thoughts on “Has Pinterest Killed Creativity?

  1. I think it's a great place for people who aren't necessarily crafty to get creative ideas. It definitely contributes to a do-it-yourself nature, which is good in general, but not so good for people like you who have a business of selling crafty things.

    Like

  2. The last thing you said is something I really want too. I come up with a lot of ideas but usually most of them can be figured out which sucks but that's when I think well maybe I should use those Ideas as projects to share. I like this post! Like I said before I am super amazed at your skills.

    Like

Leave a Reply

