2012 Reflection and New Goals

It seems like the year is a big blur. The months just seemed to pass quicker and quicker for me, and now here we are in the year 2013. I’m glad that whole Mayan prediction was wrong about the day the world would end, because it really wasn’t a good time for me. Life actually seems to be getting a bit better. Why would I want it to end now?!

But anyway… I was looking through my Facebook and blog and ran across a few things to share with you as I remember my 2012.

LOOKING BACK:

-This is the first year I’ve really been on my own since my divorce. I finally have my own place, with my own bills, and my own income. It feels really good. I don’t like how much money my bills take away from me though.

-IΒ  FINALLY read The Three Musketeers! I love the movies and had been wanting to read the book and finally did it this year. It was great!!! I highly recommend it.

-My daughter and I helped bring supplies to West Liberty, Kentucky after the tornado hit there this Spring.

-I rearranged my living room/workspace WAAAAAAY too many times, which is probably part of the reason why I’ve started physical therapy. I just don’t learn.
-I started running regularly. Although I’ve been a slacker the last couple of months… This is part of my goals for this year. But I ran my first 5k this year. I got shin splints, but it was so much fun! What a rush!!!

-I came up with some new designs that have been a big hit.

 

-I’ve met some really cool new people and gotten to know some other people better.
-I’ve learned to stock up on red yarn before Thanksgiving.
-I’ve had my first successful craft fair.
-I’ve trained my daughter to call me SuperMom.
-I watched my girl in her first ballet performance.
-I sent in my first application for submission into a gallery. The jury is this month.
For 2013 I’ve separated my goals into two categories: business and personal. In fact, one of my goals should be learning to separate the two a bit. They kinda of blur together. I find it difficult to make goals for the year, because I don’t like being disappointed at the end of the year. I guess all we can do is try to make them happen. So here goes…
BUSINESS GOALS:
-Get my business license. Make it official and all.
-Pay myself. Have business money and personal money.
-Get certified to teach knitting and crochet.
-Be more consistent and intentional with my blog, making it fun and practical to read.
-Advertise more. I’m thinking t-shirts may be on the list. I just got new business cards, and I may be getting an article in an online local paper soon, so that’s a good start.
-Be intentional with marketing myself and my product everywhere I go. Talk with people about what I do and hand out business cards. Make connections.
-Give art lessons/classes and teach crochet/knitting classes. Figure out how I can do these online too.
-Find some good books about a handmade business and read them.
-Finishing organizing my craft space and supplies.
PERSONAL GOALS:
-Run 365 miles in 365 days. Just a mile a day. I would condense it in about 3 or 4 days a week.
-Do the Color Run. This is a must.
-Gallery Hop in Lexington. I’ve wanted to do this since I heard about it this past Spring and haven’t done it yet.
-Be a yarnbomber. I want to do this just once for fun.
-Be more consistent with my Knit Pray Love charity group.
-Eat more fruits and veggies, less junk.
-Drink more water.
-Read the Bible to myself and my daughter daily.
-Have a crafty day every week with my daughter.
-Give myself one, maybe two days off every week.
-Give myself at least one night out without my daughter once a month.
-Start a savings account.
-Paint.
-Maybe take a photo of myself every day. I love quirky and want to be more quirky in my appearance so that my appearance matches my personality.
-I want to revamp my wardrobe into quirky and handmade awesomeness.
Yep. That’s pretty much it, I suppose. Here’s to a happy, healthy, handmade new year!!
Leave a Reply

