Skinny Dipping in 2013!

 

Sometimes you just need a kick to the tush in order to get you moving!

One of my biggest kicks happened about 5 years and 1 week ago when my husband left me, and my daughter and I moved from Washington state back to Illinois. I had lost so much of myself in my marriage. I became wrapped up in him and his wants, and I absorbed his criticisms. I had nearly completely stopped creating anything.

The second big kick came when I was told my temporary living arrangements had ended. That kick took me from central Illinois all the way to central Kentucky.

I’ve had a bunch of mini-kicks along the way that have reminded me who I am, or what I need to do, or have simply inspired me to something greater. There have been a lot of little pushes and tuggings that have lit my fire again in the past couple of months. To be honest, my Christmas sales are a big factor. It has renewed my confidence in my own abilities. Confidence in my talent has been something I’ve lacked for too long, partially due to lingering criticisms from my ex-husband, but mostly it’s my own doing. It’s something I’m working on building as quickly as possible.

Until a few months ago, I had stopped experimenting. I was afraid to try out my own ideas. I’ve been afraid to draw and paint. I used to love painting. I still do, but I’m terrified to get it wrong. I can’t seem to escape my own inhibitions. It’s just been so long since I’ve really painted that it’s not as easy for me as it used to be.

Well, now is the time of year we all make resolutions. I’m starting 2013 more resolved than ever to live the dream. I am an artist. I was born an artist. I’m going to BE an artist. I feel like I’ve been pretending, going through the motions, because I’ve lacked the confidence to go all in.

For 2013, I’m all in.

If there’s something you’ve not been doing out of fear or lack of confidence or whatever it may be, let 2013 be the year that you dive right in. Strip off your insecurities, inhibitions, fears, and criticisms, and dive into your dreams and passions, skinny dippin’ style!

 

2 thoughts on “Skinny Dipping in 2013!

  1. Thanks!! Unfortunately, I think art school ruined me. lol I love to paint, but my painting instructor had his favorites and I wasn't one of them. I would love to get back into it, even if it's on a small scale with painting cards or something. That's really about all I have room for in my apartment with a little girl running around. 🙂

    P.S. I love you hair color in that photo!

    Like

  2. Even though we barely know each other I am so proud of you! It's hard being independently creative because you have to believe in yourself, trust yourself, and allow yourself to make mistakes when it seems like we shouldn't. I think your super talented. I have never seen someone snap out such unique designs with yarn and a needle like you do. I am not just saying that!!! I see you are creative enough to keep peoples interest and that will go far! Keep it up and keep going! It's nice to get a good rush from a sale or someone leaving some nice words, the hard part (for me) is keeping it up after that but you have to in order to get your next rush. Get that paint out and start painting!! Didn't anyone every tell you that there are no mistakes when it comes to art? Mistakes are what make things interesting! Happy 2013 my new friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

