Craft Room Madness

Right now, it is actually the lack of a craft room that is the madness. I have my B.A. in art, which just further pushes my need to create. The problem has been that I’ve moved, and I’ve moved, and I’ve moved, and now I’m in a teeny tiny, 2-bedroom apartment… with no room for a craft room!!! Ahh, the horror!! So my crafty things have taken over my utility room (no hope for a washer and dryer in there), my closet, both of my daughter’s closets, and my den. I’m telling ya, MADNESS!

To top it all off, I really, really, really want to give art lessons again, but where?! With the craft explosion, there’s barely room for my daughter and I to walk from the front door to the kitchen! Okay, so it’s not that bad, but it’s still a bit overwhelming. Since forever, about 10 years now, I’ve been wanting my own art studio, or, at the very least, a craft room, but I’ve yet to get one. Well, I’m tired of waiting, and my bestie knows it. Now, somehow, she has convinced me (she says “reaffirmed what I knew I needed to do”) to sell my living room furniture and turn my den area into a craft room/art studio/shop/lesson teaching area. I think I may have gone off the deep end this time.

This is what my living room looks like right now. Warning: It’s scary.

 

 

I told you it’s frightening. Who needs to go to a haunted house?! Just come over to my apartment! Yikes! I’ve definitely got some work to do. My furniture has been thrown on craigslist. Hopefully it sells before I change my mind.

I have so many craft room ideas though! I should have. I’ve only been collecting them for 10 years! Oh, it’ll be so purdy! And I’ll finally be able to have everything in one spot where I can see it all. I’ll have a place where my daughter can paint or glue or whatever. I can get one funky chair to crochet in, and get a beanbag or some floor pillows. I can have kids and adults over for art/craft classes. Oh, it’ll be so fun! So… that’s the plan. Call me crazy, but this is something I’ve wanted for far too long, and there’s no sense in waiting for ideal circumstances or places or whatever to make myself happy and live my dream.

For those of you who have shown interest in my knitted earwarmers, I just listed two of them, as well as a made-to-order listing. Go check ’em out!

Now, off to tackle this mess. Wish me luck! 🙂
Don’t forget to enter my earwarmer giveaway!
Leave a Reply

