Knit Pray Love

The two radio stations I most listen to, Air1 and KLove, are joining up with CURE hospitals. CURE heals the sick and proclaims the kingdom of God by providing specialty pediatric surgical care in the developing world. They help children who have no hope or future because of a physical disability.

This particular outreach is now asking for knit hats to send to the CURE hospital in Afghanistan, for children aged newborn through 12-years-old. They want handknit hats, with your personal attention & prayer. They also ask that you include a handwritten note to the mother, saying you are praying for her and to encourage her.

 

I knit a hat and posted it to Facebook. A friend from church commented, saying she had heard of this but that she didn’t knit. I knit with sticks, but I told her I cheated on this one and used a loom. I also told her that she could easily do this and that I would teach her. I then got the idea to take this to my whole church. I now have a very excited youth group and a group of adults within the church who are excited and ready to join me on this. We are planning a day to get together and “knit” our hats, to be shipped together as a church.

 

I plan to continue this as a ministry I have been wanting to do for nearly a year now. After my niece was diagnosed with leukemia and I made her a pigtail hat as she was going through treatments, I have wanted to make hats for other children undergoing cancer treatments. My goal is to form a group that meets monthly to create such hats to be distributed at hospitals, such as St. Jude, and to also make infant hats for maternity wards and crisis pregnancy centers. This ministry combines several things I have been hoping for: teaching others life skills, teaching art lessons, something that can include my 5-year-old daughter (who wants to learn to make a hat today), and a way to reach others for Christ, to be that light in a darkened world.

This is the video from the Knit Pray Love website…


CURE Knit Pray Love from CURE Video on Vimeo.

Please join me in this amazing outreach and show the love of Christ to these women and children. If you cannot knit a hat, you could send a handwritten note or a check to help with shipping costs through the website.

Leave a Reply

