Slouchy Beret Pattern

This is NOT my pattern. I found it online somewhere to create my slouchy hat, which I love, but I don’t remember where the pattern was found. A few have asked me about the hat though, so I found where I had written the pattern down and am sharing it with you.

The finished product:

 

 

I wrote about the beautiful yarn here. It was made by a friend of mine. If you’d like some of his handmade yarns, let me know and might be able to hook you up with him.

 

SLOUCHY BERET PATTERN

Materials: One skein of I Love This Yarn or any worsted weight yarn
Hook: Size J

Stitch Note:
DC DECREASE: Yo, pull up loop, yo, pull through two loops, yo, pull up loop in next stitch, yo, pull through two loops, yo, pull through all remaining loops.

Ch 3 and sl st in first ch to form a ring.

Round 1: Ch 3 (turning chain counts as first dc here and throughout), dc in center of ring 11 times (12). Join with sl st in turning ch.

Rnd 2: Ch 3, dc in same st, 2 dc in each stitch around ending with sl st in turning ch

Rnd 3: ch 3, 2 dc in next st, 1 dc Rep to end, join with sl st

Rnd 4: ch 3, 1 dc in next st, 2dc in next st, 1 dc in next 2 sts rep to end, join

Rnd 5: ch 3, 1 dc in next 2 sts, 2 dc in next st, 1 dc in next 3 sts rep to end, join

Rnd 6: ch 3, 1 dc in next 3 sts, 2 dc in next st, 1 dc in next 4 sts rep to end, join

Rnd 7: ch 3, 1 dc in next 4 sts, 2 dc in next st, 1 dc in next 5sts rep to end, join

Rnd 8: ch 3, 1 dc in next 5 sts, 2 dc in next st, 1 dc in next6 sts rep to end, join

Rnd 9-10: ch 3, 1 dc in each st around (work even) I think the more rounds you do here, the slouchier it will be

Rnd 11: ch 3, 1 dc in next 5 sts, dc dec in next 2 sts, 1 dc in next 6 sts rep to end, join

Rnd 12: ch 3, 1 dc in next 4 sts, dc dec in next 2 sts, 1 dc in next 5 sts rep to end, join

Rnd 13: ch 3, 1 dc in next 3 sts, *dc dec in next 2 sts, 1 dc in next 4 sts * rep to end, join

Rnd 14: ch 3, 1 dc in next 7 sts, dc decrease in next 2 sts, 1 dc in next 6 sts rep to end, join

Rnd 15-19: ch 2 (counts as first sc), sc in each st across. End row by joining with slip stitch in turning chain.

Fasten off, weave in ends.

*To make smaller (child) size hat, work up to row 6 or 7, then work even 2 rounds. Then work to rows 12 or 13.

The flower was found on a different site, magazine, or something. Here’s the pattern for it:

Materials: 2 colors of WW yarn and F hook

Ch 2, 6 sc in 1st ch from hook, don’t join

Rnd 1: 2 sc in each st around, sl st in back loop of next st

Rnd 2: ch 3, skip 1, sc in BLO of next st rep 5 times (6 petals), ch 3, sl st in first ch 3 sp.

Rnd 3: ch 2, 5 dc, ch 2, sl st in the sp, work sl st, ch 2, 5 dc, ch 2, sl st in each space, FO first color.

Rnd 4: join second color in front loop that’s unworked, ch 2, skip 1, sc in FLO of next st rep 5 times (6 petals), ch 2, sl st in first ch 2 space

Rnd 5: ch 2, 4 dc, ch 2, sl st in same space, work sl st, ch 2, 4 dc, ch 2, sl st in each space, FO and weave in ends.

I attached a pin to the back of my flower so I can add and remove it when I want to.

I hope you enjoy the hat as much as I do! Post links to your berets… I’d love to see them!

Be sure to check out my online store for handmade goodies!

Leave a Reply

